PDA

View Full Version : Tuning up a windows xp laptop...



Andrewma
06-11-2015,
Hello,
How can I make my laptop faster??After some 'Googling', I realized maybe dust inside my laptop could also be a factor slowing it down...Is that possible? If so, then what can I do to solve it?

Mini toolbox report:

MiniToolBox by Farbar Version: 30-11-2014
Ran by Administrator (administrator) on 08-12-2014 at 20:45:29
Running from "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\Downloads"
Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (X86)
Boot Mode: Normal
************************************************** *************************

========================= Event log errors: ===============================

Application errors:
==================
Error: (12/08/2014 08:22:45 PM) (Source: crypt32) (User: )
Description: Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: The server name or address could not be resolved

Error: (12/08/2014 08:19:44 PM) (Source: MSSQLSERVER) (User: )
Description: 18052 :
Error: 823, Severity: 24, State: 6.

Error: (12/07/2014 04:18:19 PM) (Source: MSSQLSERVER) (User: )
Description: 18052 :
Error: 823, Severity: 24, State: 6.

Error: (12/07/2014 04:08:49 PM) (Source: crypt32) (User: )
Description: Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: The server name or address could not be resolved

Error: (12/07/2014 04:05:47 PM) (Source: MSSQLSERVER) (User: )
Description: 18052 :
Error: 823, Severity: 24, State: 6.

Error: (12/07/2014 03:46:25 PM) (Source: crypt32) (User: )
Description: Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: The server name or address could not be resolved

Error: (12/07/2014 03:46:21 PM) (Source: MSSQLSERVER) (User: )
Description: 18052 :
Error: 823, Severity: 24, State: 6.

Error: (12/07/2014 03:28:41 PM) (Source: crypt32) (User: )
Description: Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: The server name or address could not be resolved

Error: (12/07/2014 03:28:30 PM) (Source: MSSQLSERVER) (User: )
Description: 18052 :
Error: 823, Severity: 24, State: 6.

Error: (12/07/2014 01:22:52 PM) (Source: crypt32) (User: )
Description: Failed auto update retrieval of third-party root list sequence number from: <http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3/static/trustedr/en/authrootseq.txt> with error: The server name or address could not be resolved

AndrewMi
06-12-2015,
Well...you could start by doubling the amount of RAM installed from 2GB to 4GB. Then, I would remove CleanMem from the system.

I see that Ccleaner is installed...I would ensure that the registry cleaner function of that tool is NOT used.

I would also uninstall/reinstall MS Office 2007/12 and SP3 for that version. I would follow that with reinstallation of all critical updates for that version of Office.

I would uninstall Norton Utilities 16. This program is just another "optimizer/registry cleaner" program that burdens the system unnecessarily with various monitors and excess baggage. BC does NOT support the use of such programs at all.

Microsoft support policy for the use of registry cleaning utilities (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2563254) - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2563254

Registry cleaner - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Registry_cleaner) - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Registry_cleaner

Registry Cleaner FAQ, PC Support (http://pcsupport.about.com/od/registry-cleaner/a/registry-cleaner-faq.htm) - http://pcsupport.about.com/od/registry-cleaner/a/registry-cleaner-faq.htm

Registry Cleaner, Animal (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/526247/tune-up-utilities-2014-problem/?p=3303494) - http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/526247/tune-up-utilities-2014-problem/?p=3303494

Why I Would Uninstall Yahoo Install Manager (https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20060925190945AAfn0r4)

Norton Identity Safe...I would also uninstall this just because I know that anything from Symantec/Norton...is bound to be overly burdensome to the system than it has to be and this type of utility is totally unnecessary for most users.

After all of the above, I would run the chkdsk /r command. Start/Run...type chkdsk /r and hit Enter. Type Y in new screen, hit Enter. Reboot...the command will run before booting into Windows.

Then...I'd take stock of how the system performs.

AndrewMego
06-12-2015,
Thanks a lot...Will try that as soon as possible...
I just checked my laptop accessories' drawer and I found a 'msdn' cd which states that it has volume license versions of


windows xp professional with sp2
windows xp professional x64 edition
windows xp tablet pc edition 2005

Are these of any help??If yes, then how can I make use of them? Can I use the iso on that cd to repair xp?
I also found a cd with sp3 and will reinstall it right away as Louis said...
I feel Ram cannot be increased as this is the maximum capacity of my laptop...If I am wrong please let me know...
Cleanmem reports that my memory usage has increased drastically(nearly doubled)...What to do?
Thanks and Regards

AndrewnupS
06-13-2015,
Almost all applications you install want to startup when Windows loads. Many of these programs are not needed and disabling them can save resources and improve performance as they are available from the Start Menu > All Programs or an icon on the Desktop if needed. For information on how to identify and disable unnecessary startups, please refer to the section "Check for any unnecessary applications loading when Windows Boots" in this guide: Slow Computer/Browser? Check here first; it may not be malware (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/87058/slow-computerbrowser-check-here-first;-it-may-not-be-malware/)

Andrewoi
06-14-2015,
If you don't intend to do a clean install of the O/S...the CDs you mention are of no impact.

You cannot use a XP SP2 install disk...to do a repair install on a system reflecting XP SP3...without expecting problems, IMO...and I suspect that a clean install would be necessary to undo the self-inflicted problems.

As for a repair install....where does the thought that doing such is going to make your system any "faster"...where does that come from? A repair install is not going to make any system with 2GB of RAM...run as if it has 4GB of RAM.

If I intended to try to make a system faster...I would start with uninstalling every unneeded program currently installed...and probably end by ensuring that I'm doing routine mainenance...routinely.

You have a laptop dating back to 2005...Specs (http://www8.hp.com/h20195/v2/GetDocument.aspx?docname=c04287243)...and you want to make it do things it wasn't intended to due, after a possible 9-plus years of use. If I had a system dating back to that period, I'd be grateful it's still capable of proper functioning and has not produced any hardware heartaches yet. If I wanted a faster system...I'd purchase a newer system because the hardware improvements since 2005 are quite considerable, IMO.

We recognize that many users want the advantages of later technology without investing in such. IMO, that just is not possible and those users either continue to make do with whatever works...or go forward with a purchase of newer technology to reap the attendant benefits of such.

admin
06-15-2015,
hamluis (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/u/33068/hamluis/)Just doing a little leg work for ya, you mentioned installing more RAM, but it appears that this is not an option. This is from the Quickspecs you posted :
256-MB, 512-MB, or 1024-MB 333-MHz DDR SDRAM; two SODIMM slots
Maximum Upgradeable to 2048-MB maximum (1024-MB SODIMM in slots 1 and 2)

RJNB, Remember, I am not a computer guy, but, I don't think you can use "windows xp professional with sp2" unless you do a clean install. You will be downgrading also, but, it might be better than what you got now - slow computer. Like I said one time before, it seems as though you need a clean install.

"windows xp professional x64 edition" I don't think you can use this one because it is a 64bit

"windows xp tablet pc edition 2005" I'm not sure about this one? don't think a tablet version will work.