PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Graphic Design Idea Help

AndrewNisp
07-20-2015,
Im not sure how many designers are on this site so perhaps im not in the right place:

I am new to the Freelance world of Graphic Design. The biggest biggest problem I have is a hard time coming up with concepts, and how to come up with unique ideas. How to get that unique logo. When I look at other peoples work I say to myself I can design like that but I cant think of that or come up with that concept.

Is graphic design skills in the sense of the creative aspect something you either you have or dont?? Can it be taught????

Are tutorials in software something that can be valuable to do, or after a while do you forget them after a while because you dont use them for a long period of time??

Are there any sites that are setup like BC that are more geared to just designers?

Thank You!!!

AndrewnupS
07-21-2015,
I'm not a graphic designer, but a 3D modeler and I can say that the most helpful thing for me is deciding on a style before I decide on a final design. For example, if I was to build a fictional airplane, I would first develop a 'style' for the faction it represents. If it's the warlike faction, then I make the airplane with jagged details and pointy points that point, as well as making it look cruel and crude, for example having a red-black and smoky exhaust instead of a blue exhaust.
So I'd say, if you have a 'final product' in mind, like my airplane, think of a style, then apply that style to each of the parts. I'm not sure how I can help you with a more abstract image like a fractal, but if you have a real-world object that you're trying to make, or even a logo, start with a style and the 'message' you want to convey.
http://www.veryicon.com/icon/png/Brands/Football%20Marks/Puma%20logo.png
Puma, for example, has a modern but 'standard' look, while Air Force logos are aggressive and have sharp lines.
edit: