PDA

View Full Version : In defence of Flash.

adachib
12-12-2015,
I am a web designer and have been using flash since version 2.0. It is a great animation tool. I personally have some professional loss from the downward trajectory of Flash right now, but I am nonetheless a little baffled by it.
I understand there are some reasons to be down on it. Steve Jobs probably expressed them best: instability on some platforms, choppy performance, battery drain etc. These things cannot be denied. Although some of Jobs ire toward Flash was strategic: Flash web apps are a threat to sales of ios apps.
Many seem to be happy to see Flash go down, but it lowers the potential of web experiences. I have played with html5 animation tools, and even used Swiffy to output Flash authored animations to html5. It is slower, choppier and more patchy than any swf output. It only really works halfway okay on chrome. It is hardly a substitute.
The world of mobile computing is really just beginning. Dual core and quad core devices are coming into play. They handle flash better than many laptops and netbooks, as bourne out by devices such as Galaxy S2. Within 2 years multicore devices will dominate. I implore you Adobe hang in there with mobile Flash. Keep refining and soon hardware complaints will be history. I am surely not alone in feeling the loss of Flash. Speak Flash defenders!

Adellelip
12-12-2015,
I am the tragic who just spent the last half year or so learning Flash. I have been dabbling in HTML5 as well and although it works well in some cases, eg. drop-down menus, simple animations, etc. it doesn’t work as well for anything advanced.
I accept that HTML5 is very useful. I mean, The Verge is a good example of what can be done with it. But Flash has it’s place and it will hold that for a looong time.

Addrianarova
12-12-2015,