PDA

View Full Version : Tor or VPN? What's best and how are they different?

AlexanaRups
05-29-2015,
I'm new to computers and interested in keeping my searches and internet use to myself. I've heard about Tor and VPN but don't really understand how they differ.

If you use a VPN do you still search via your normal browser (say Google or Firefox) and can your ISP not still see what searches you are making anyway or is the whole thing encrypted?

How does Tor differ from a VPN? Would using a VPN make banking and investing on line safer?

Finally I am interested in anonymous browsing out of bloody mindedness in that I object to the state interfering and poking its nose into other peoples' business on principle especially after the disclosures of Edward Snowden and how they seem to want to spy on even us honest citizens. (rant over)

Any advice most welcome. Thanks.

Alexixon
06-01-2015,
I pretty much have the same questions regarding the difference and would invite any expert opinion on the subject as well.

Its intriguing

Alexeykep
06-01-2015,