PDA

View Full Version : Just a few small issues

AlbertBig
06-01-2015,
I have been using Ubuntu on my laptop for a few months and I decided to take the leap and install it on my desktop. I only have two issues. First of all my USB 3.0 ports do not do anything. The computer does not see them at all. Secondly the animations are sometimes laggy when minimizing and maximizing. Does anybody have any solutions to these problems?

Albertkt
06-03-2015,
I was hoping somebody would tell me how to compile a list with terminal. http://ubuntuforums.org/images/smilies/icon_wink.gif

AMD FX 8320 8-core
XFX R9 290
64 bit
8 gigs of ram
14.04 LTS

AlbertMr
06-05-2015,
Kernel: 3.16.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Gnome Distro: Ubuntu 14.04 trusty
Mobo: Gigabyte model: 990FXA-UD3
Bios: American Megatrends version: F2 date: 07/15/2013
CPU: Octa core AMD FX-8320 Eight-Core (-MCP-) clocked at 2300.00 MHz
Graphics Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Hawaii PRO [Radeon R9 290]
X.Org: 1.16.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 128 bits) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Network: Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (31.1% used)
Info: Processes: 285 Uptime: 1:10 Memory: 2785.9/7949.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17

alcgzfdwji
06-06-2015,
+1 on using inxi for what you want. It is a full featured system information script that will detect information about hardware specifications, including but not limited to vendor details, CPU info, graphic and sound cards.

Here's a cheat sheet for its most common use:

System information

inxi -b will output basic system information
inxi -F will output full system information

Hard drive details

inxi -D will output information on your hard drives, like make, model and size

Hard drive partitions